States Required to Cover Weight Loss Surgery

States Required to Cover Weight Loss SurgeryHere is the updated list of states required to include bariatric surgery in all Individual, Family and Small Group Plans:

    Arizona California Delaware Hawaii Illinois Iowa Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Oklahoma Rhode Island South Dakota Vermont West Virginia Wyoming

Is Your State NOT On the List?

If your state is NOT on the list, then weight loss surgery is probably NOT covered under ANY of your Healthcare Marketplace (Obamacare) plans.

However, you have some options…

First, contact your local surgeon to be sure . For no charge, their office will contact your insurance company on your behalf to work through the details.

If your surgeon confirms that your policy does not include obesity surgery, you still have several options for making surgery more affordable. See these pages for more information:

    Weight Loss Surgery Insurance Secrets: Revised List (good tips even if your policy does not include bariatric surgery) Financing bariatric surgery (all of the options to make the surgery more affordable without insurance)

See the following page for a deeper dive into the issue and additional options:


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s