Ayurveda – Ancient India Medicine

Ayurveda - Ancient India MedicineAyurveda Ayurveda, meaning the science of longevity, was an indigenous system of medicine in ancient India. The oldest known Ayurvedic texts are the Suśruta Saṃhitā and the Charaka Saṃhitā. It contains information about diseases, their diagnosis and expected cures.

Ayurveda as an art of healing was treated with respect in ancient India. The knowledge systemized as Ayurveda was considered at par with the Vedas. The knowledge of Ayurveda was passed from generations to generations and was spread among sages, hermits and other religious men who moved from one place to another. Those who solely practiced this form of medicine were known as Vaidyas and they belonged to the Brahmin caste.

In classical Sanskrit literature, Ayurveda was called the science of eight components: 1- Kāya-chikitsā (General Medicine) 2 –Kaumāra-bhṛtya (Paediatrics) 3 – Śhalya-chikitsā (Surgery) 4- Śālākya-tantra (ophthalmology/ENT) 5- Bhūta vidyā ((demonology / exorcism/psychiatry) 6- Agada-tantra (toxicology) 7 – Rasayana-tantra (elixirs) 8- Vājīkaraṇa tantra ( Aphrodisiacs) The main medical practitioners of Ayurveda were Atraya, Agnivesa, Charaka and Shusruta.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s